New to 2 strokes.

Oneshot

Mar 1, 2016
Central,PA
Hello fellow Blaster owners.As the topic says I am new to running 2 strokes.I did not realize there was so much difference between 2 and 4 stroke engines.So here it goes.I bought a 06 Blaster with a Toomey B1 pipe. The guy said the engine was bored over and I will find out soon enough.Doing some ripping and tearing on it this weekend.Already had the injection block off kit purchased before I found your nice helpful forum.So I am gonna go ahead and put that on and while I am at it change trans fluid and inspect it. The springs where missing off the exhaust when I got it so went to the local hardware store and got some very strong springs and put on it.The only reason I seen they where missing is I saw a little smoke coming from the flange.Carb leaks from the drain tube near the floats if I do not keep turning the fuel off so I suspect the needle needs cleaned.But how do I tell if it is factory jets or not?And do you think I will need a new exhaust gasket? Also if you have easy access to some of the links for float height, Jet adjustment,Leak down test. Could you post here?I been searching alot and bookmarked about 10 different pages from the forum. So if you cannot post the links here no prob.Just be alot easier to go to 1 page to find and look at all the procedures instead of looking through bookmarks and trying to find the one I am looking for. All help and suggestions are very much appreciated.

Welcome to the forum

I'll answer some of your questions for you.

The carb leaking out the overflow tube is either a bad float height, or some gunk in the needle seat. The float height needs to be set 20-21.5mm.

While you have the carb apart, clean and inspect it. The pilot jet should be a 32.5, the main jet from the factory would be a 230.