quick clutch adjustment ?

Uptown_Blaster

Mar 15, 2010
Philadelphia
I had to replace the bottom end on my blaster, and one of the things I had to replace was the clutch. I have never done it before so ofcourse I put everything in wrong including the cluth and all the plates. Once it was all back together, the clutch was really really soft and the bike would cut off in gear. I kno I need to adjust it but im not exactly sure how . . . i kno its something with the screw in the middle of the pressure plate but what exactly do i do. I kno i need to put the plates in at every 2 o clock and line the dot up on the pressure plate but I am lost as far as adjusting the center screw, thanks.(sorry to write so much)

Give me a minute. I posted this before let me find it- Are ya sure you have both push rods and ball bearing in there?

Ok found it!

1. loosen the outer center nut on the pressure plate almost all the way off
2. hold the clutch lever (the part that the cable hooks onto in the motor) and gently push it towards the front of your bike to relieve the spring tension
3. Now with a small phillips turn the center shaft in which ever direction it takes to align the pointer marks up as you are applying a little pressure to lever shouldn't take many turns you will feel it move. [usually clockwise]
4. When it is aligned, let the lever go it will go off the arrow due to spring tension that's ok. Keep your screw driver on there and take your wrench 10mm and tighten the center nut down snug while holding the center rod tight so it doesn't move.
5. Now take a socket and tighten it down good but becareful you dont overtighten it and snap it just a good snug tight is perfect. 5 ft lbs is what the manual says.
6. Put the cover back on, make sure your spring for the kick gear is in the hole when you do this or you'll be replacing some more parts down the road (experience talking here!).