Why We Leak Test

Braaaptor

Dec 1, 2009
Hamlet, NC
To anybody who is curious as to why we stress doing a leakdown test on your engine, here's all the reason you'll ever need:

photobucket-23109-1363404193446_zps1450869e.jpg

I'm an experienced mechanic who has been working on engines for years. However, I'm also very human and I DO make mistakes, especially when I get in a hurry. I'll be the first to say that this leak was my fault. I should have used a better method of installing this crank seal when I rebuilt my engine last year, but I rushed it. The seal wasn't driven in squarely, and I eventually paid the price.

Fortunately, it lasted awhile before a leak developed. But the last time I took the Blaster out, it was running "funny" as many might say. Down on power, hanging idle... I took it easy getting back to the truck and trailered the Blaster home half a day earlier than intended. Once home, I pulled out the trusty leak tester and went to work. I kinda suspected a leaky flywheel side crank seal (The Blaster isn't burning any tranny lube and I used an OEM base and head gasket during reassembly), but its nice to see bubbles as confirmation. After I install a new seal, I'll re-test just to be sure its still airtight. And if anybody is wondering, this engine passed a leakdown test right after I got done building it, but the crankshaft wore down the crooked seal just enough over a season of riding to cause a leak.

How's this for a strange way to detect a leaky crank seal?! If only the crankshaft seal was as airtight as this stator cover gasket, we wouldn't be having this problem! Haha.

photobucket-16403-1363404157177_zps6568bfe0.jpg