no spark or too rich? 01 blaster

finetuning60

Aug 17, 2014
Hi guys I'm new to this and this is my first two stroke but I have been a round them so I have a good understanding of them but I'm confused now. I have an 01 blaster bored. 030 over New top an bottom end. I have a stock carb from an 03 with a 230 main jet. I am also using the stock air box no mod. It ran fine until I took it apart and cleaned the carb because the float got stuck..I adjusted the floats t 20.00mm and have the air screw 1/1/2 out stock settings.Idk what the pilot jet is I believe it is stock because it came of a stock 03. There is a pipe on it but I believe it's just the silencer because the headline looks like the stock one. After I cleaned the carb an put it back on it fired up on the 3rd kick stayed idling for about Two minutes and then died and won't start back up..at first it like fired pinged twice like it was trying to run then died. Now it doesn't even seem like it wants to start. Its getting gas the plug is soaked when I take it out after 5 kicks...I have tryed several new blush the br8es and the b8es. I even try to start it with starting fluid and still nothing which is why I think there's no spaek. Any suggestions would help thanks

Do not use starting fluid. I can tell you, that the jetting is off. Depends on what is done to the quad and elevation. Have you leak tested your blaster? To test for spark, take the plug out of the engine, put the plug in the coil and place the end of the plug on top of the engine. Must be touching metal. Kick and see if there is spark.

Check that there're is spark as above.

Continually kicking it may have just flooded it.

Remove the plug, drain the carb. Hold the throttle wide open and kick until your leg is sore.

Put in a new plug and try again.

make sure you put carb boots back on tight and aligned,and top of carb is tight ect,if it was okay before you removed the carb then maybe do it again inspect or you may have another issue:)