Looking for a motivational speach......

jlsparky7

Mar 26, 2007
Southeastern, Mi
Some of you already know that I am an EMT and heres the problem.....

Being an EMT sucks.....

I went through paramedic school and have been unable to pass the national written exam for being a paramedic. I passed the class with a 95%. The company that provides the test is NREMT (National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians). You get 3 trys and this will be my 3rd.

There are 5 sections.

Airway and Breathing
cardiology
Trauma
OB/Peds
EMS operations

You get either a pass or fail, no grade. You are either below passing, near passing, or above passing in each catagory. You must pass all categories. I have been below passing in every category both times. For my first EMT class I passed and was done with the test in 15 minutes. It felt like the easiest test I had ever taken. This paramedic test is completely different. Somehow some of the biggest idiots I know can pass this paramedic exam yet I cant. Its disappointing, I want to get on with my life but cant until I pass this test.

The first 2 times I took it I studied 6-8 hours a day for months before I scheduled the exam and still had no luck in passing.

Im not looking for sympathy or anything. Just ideas on what to do to pass the test other than study.

Thank you if you spent the time to read this.

First responder is a step below an EMT which is what im licensed at. I am already a certified firefighter. I did the fire academy before paramedic school. I probably should have included that. This test is harder than a nursing exam and has a higher failure rate than the doctors bar exam.

Thanks man I appreciate it. I just dont know what else to do. I have 9 paramedic books, a Advanced cardiac life support book, a EKG interpretation book, 2 study guides, 7 Self Test CD's, A medication book, a 12-lead book, and a special operations book.

Ive read them all....... at least 10 times each.... Taken notes and highlighted important stuff.