getting a 98 blaster got a lot of questions

blasterdude14

Apr 28, 2009
ohio
Hi guys, i'm getting a 1998 yamaha blaster that is bone stock except for it has some new tires on it and the new brakes and gear shifter im gonna have to put on it. I have a lot of questions because i'm new to the riding scene.
question 1: What type of oil and ratio should I run and for when winter comes should i use a different type of oil because i've heard of oil becoming to thick in the winter time?
question 2: I will be riding on trails that are usually soaked in mud and water so wat can I do to help out the suspension and handling?
question 3: When I decide to upgrade to some performance parts should I buy the stuff that they sell on project blaster or should i get something else or would a 240 big bore kit be more worth it?
question 4: If and when I do get the upgrades mentioned in the previous question what kind of jetting should i have?
question 5: I would post some pictures of the quad the person selling it sent to me but i have no idea how to do it so could someone help me out with that?
Also i don't exactly have a lot of money to spend on upgrades the engine upgrades i could probably pay for preety quick but i know that aarms,swingarms and shocks are preety expensive so what would be some cheap upgrades that I could do I have heard of people putting on banshee front shocks and Z400 rear shocks does that work well? If I decide to get a swingarm and a arm upgrade would you reccomend the ones they sell on ebay for 200$ or can i get a better deal elsewhere? How often should I be doing maitenence? I dont plan on doing any racing. FINAL QUESTION(I promise) would I be able to beat a 250cc suzuki ozark and a 350cc honda utility atv?(i have no idea of the real name for it but i know its a utility) The only reason I want to know is because my friends are already talking crap lol
Thanks for taking the time to read and answer these questions for me

David