2002 blaster upgrade help

swishcooter

Aug 30, 2015
ok im new to this and need some advise. i just bought a 2002 blaster with a rebuilt motor with wiseco aluminum piston. top and bottom rebuild. the front brakes work but need some love. the bike is in over ok shape. i am a experienced rider but by no means a pro. im looking to rebuild this bike and want to start on the front end and move towards the rear. why do people add extended a arms? what all does this include as a project? brake lines, shocks, ball joints, tie-rods? if so does someone sell a kit? next my rear brakes are locked up and i need a WHOLE new assembly from the lever to the rear caliper. i cant find one online. any places to look? rear extended swing arm? why? i want to replace all the plastics as well but im worried about getting some not so well made ones and them braking. any and all your guys help is greatly appreciated. i live in the country with alot of dirt roads and trails. that would be my primary ride type.

thanks again for your help!

Sounds like we've got a sweet build coming up!!
So when it comes to widening the front, the greatest benefits are stability (if you're wider its harder to roll) and with depending on the set up you can have more suspension travel and with the right shocks they can handle various terrains better as well as make it a better ride for you! If you're going to be redoing the front suspension you might want to look into converting to hydraulic brakes and ditch the drums. That way you can stop too:). The only extra things that would be needed are spindle's, calipers, master cylinder, hubs/rottrailAnd if you get extended a arms some are made to use stock shocks (or at least the same length) or longer shocked. And another completely different and cheeper option would be to get wheel or stud spacers.