vintage 73 thunderjet oval clone snowmobile

blasterkid89

Jan 2, 2009
good old canisteo ny
heres are a couple pics of my oval racing clone ive been working on for a couple months now that the weather is decent out, it was a 79 Yamaha srx 440 chassis and i had to cut the front cross member down, and re weld the brackets ect.. to fit my reproduction 73' thunderjet glass, its getting there a little bit @ a time, i am putting on wahl oval bars, boxing in the rear of the tunnel, making custom foot wells, working on making an alum oval tank, low profile seat foam, motor is a gpx 433 free air that is being sent out to have the cyc bored .030, heads shaved .010, ported cyc, mukuni round slide 38mm carbs, ram air tubes, and i have a set of aaen stinger pipes, other mods include north star oval skis, custom belt and break guards, lowered suspension, and then everything its getting powder coated frame a friend, the tunnel and bulk head is a light gold in color and the hood and belly pan are gonna be ford grabber blue, and my uncles making me vynals, so buy the end of summer it should be ready to take to the vintage snowmobile shows

i had to readjust the 1 front cross memeber on 1 side
ATT00030.jpg

after cutting grinding and mig welding i got the front cross memeber and supports back on then i had to line up the belly pan and drill new holes for the spindles in the pan, what a bi*ch that was haha
clonefrontend.jpg

spindel1.jpg

heres what ive done so far and im gonna go down and work on it all this weekend too
clonequarter1.jpg

here are a couple pics of 73 thunder jets that were set up fo oval racing and what not
DSCF0067-2.jpg

77655.jpg

SnowmobileDrags_20090222_0445.jpg

SnowmobileDrags_20090222_0447.jpg

SnowmobileDrags_20090222_0457.jpg