Noob - Here for ideas/help for my sons Blaster

B

bbjohn74

Hey all,

As it says, I am a newbie here. My son just got a '91 Blaster from his mom for his good grades. Problem is, she didn't look it over very well. He rode it for about 3 weeks and it's dead now. I brought it to my house, checked it out, there is no compression at all. Took the head and cylinder off and the skirt on one side of the piston is gone, bottom end was filled with gas, not pretty. Took the head to a machine shop to check on boring it, found 2 cracks in it.

SO, if anyone knows where I can find a good cylinder, I would appreciate the info on where it is. I have thought about the 240 Big Bore kit, but not quite sure he is ready for it yet. I told him about it and he's not sure either. But he does fine on a Honda 400 EX, he's just not "adventurous" with it yet. I think he would like it, but if I could start with a smaller bore, I could always build up to more power as he goes.

Glad I found this place, looks like there is alot of good info and people here !!!

Thanks,
John R

you can always get a big bore kit now then wait to get the correct pipe so it wont have as much power

I know this is just the introduction area, but I have a few questions that you guys have already got me started on here. I'll go ahead and put them here and see what happens.

I'm obviously trying to find a replacement cylinder, hopefully I can find a decent that I am sure will need a good bore, so it will not be stock at that part. It already has an FMF full pipe and I assume a stock carb. Pretty sure eveything else is stock there.

I was thinking about getting rid fo the airbox and going with a breather cap and cover. Set of reeds and maybe a reed spacer ? I will definately clean up the head and cylinder myself (yes, I am not scared and I have the tools. I do play around with cars and yes I know it's a little different).