big bore blaster misfire when hot

blaster888

May 21, 2014
i just got a yamaha blaster not sure of year i think its around 95-2000 i was told it has a big bore kit but im not 100% sure but it sure seems like it here is my problem when it is cold it runs great and pulls hard for about 5 mins but once it gets hot as soon as it gets into the power band it starts misfiring and poping im not sure what the problem is could this be jetting? and it misfires regardless of throttle position if im half 3/4 or full as soon as the power starts coming on it starts poping any help would be appreciated?

i just got this 4 wheeler it has an aftermarket silencer and stock head pipe that leaks bad where it goes in the cylinder and where it connects to the silencer no air filter or airbox lid (i ordered a filter) ill do research on how to do a leakdown test and have no idea what jets are in it im new to 2 strokes

but right off the top of your head do you have any ideas? i wanna try to seal the exhaust and rejet it think thats a good start?

A leaky header pipe will cause it to run lean.

No air box lid will make it run leaner.

No air filter will make it run very much leaner.

Combine all 3 problems and you have a melted piston and enough ingested dirt to make a brick.

Ride no more until you have checked the jetting suits the mods and there is an air filter fitted?

Another observation, if you are riding it cold you are asking to cold seize the piston in the bore.

An engine should never be put under riding stress until it is fully warmed up.

Clean the carby, fit the correct jets, set the float level, adjust the idle as per specs.

Warm up the engine and perform a plug chop to confirm jetting.

Last edited:
Reactions: Herpderplol
Might want to inspect piston also if running like that. It will only save you from diging into the bottom end.