New member from Southern tier NY

ASoles

Feb 21, 2015
Savona, NY 14879
Hi all, Im new to the forums here. Like the Title says I'm from upstate NY. I just purchased an 03 Blaster for my 11 yo son. All stock and runs pretty good, will be looking at various mods to make it a bit better for my son. As I do so i will lean on the members here for help, advice etc... Im not new to ATV's or modding them, but I am new to the blaster and 2-stroke in general. Ive done some research already and a few of the first mods i want to do are... Tires, Nerf Bars, Pipe and jet, eventually port and polishing, shocks - maybe extended swing arm and A-arms. Im on a limited budget so its gonna take some time. Any advice as to what to do first would be helpful. Im not looking to make this a race ready machine, just increase dependability and comfort. A little power gain is always a plus but remember this is for my 11 yo son. This will be his first experience with a sport quad, hoping he can get a few years of fun out of it.

Reactions: cbaber
Where abouts in N.Y you from?

First and foremost,,, leak test and check compression. Check that chain and sprockets are in good shape, check bearings both front and rear. Make sure all lug nuts are tight (last thing you want is your little one to go riding and a tire to fall off) << sounds stupid but it has happened. Check tie rod ends and ball joints are good. Grease all the fittings, and check air filter. Yanno the basic stuff.

You must do a leakdown test, and a compression test will give you a good idea on piston/ring condition. If he wont be riding really hard and or hitting big jumps some wheel spacers would be good. Maybe a swing arm extension if you could find one. 11 is pretty young so maybe focus on the stability and handling before engine mods. (just my opinion though)