Niche Industries Top End Kit

Logan

Mar 25, 2015
Menomonie , wi
I recently purchased a top end kit from niche industries. I have read the stuff posted on here about it and wanted to give some details about it. I'm not a mechanic by any means but I do know a little about casting and why these kits are so cheap. Mine is from parts discounter on eBay for $135. The cylinder seems pretty good. The holes for the head bolts and exhaust flange need to be cleaned. As many of you have also stated, all of the ports must be chamfered. There are some small casting defects inside the ports but nothing too serious.
The piston looks like crap. The best description of it I could give is that it looks like it is made of recycled matchbox cars. It is also very light in comparison to the bad piston I took out. All of the other parts appear to be fine.
image.jpg
image.jpg
image.jpg
I will be installing the kit this coming weekend and will give updates. I will probably be using a pro x piston.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    790.7 KB · Views: 906
Reactions: Awk08
good info Logan, keep us posted with your results

are you getting ready to drop that piston in the recycle bin in this pic :)
image-jpg.22390

Reactions: Fast6hand
Haha yes. That is probably the best place for it, but I'll probably turn it into a pencil holder or something for my desk.

Make sure the ports have good champhering, if in doubt google it.

Be sure to wash clinder real good. Best "at home" way is Dawn dish soap, keep washing until a white towel comes out white.

Make sure the ports have good champhering, if in doubt google it.

Be sure to wash clinder real good. Best "at home" way is Dawn dish soap, keep washing until a white towel comes out white.

Thanks for the advise. I'm still in the process of installing the kit. A few things have gotten in the way.